Reading: Tier 1 Covid restrictions explained

The level of restrictions in place in Reading under the new three-tier coronavirus system has been confirmed.

The government has said Reading will be in tier one at ‘medium’ alert level, the lowest of the three Covid-19 tiers with the least tight restrictions.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson announced the new three-tier system at 3.35pm this afternoon.

READ MORE: Plea to save vital NHS service facing the axe as Covid cuts labelled ‘premature’

Mr Johnson said the new system will “simplify and standardise” local rules.

He said it aims to find a balance between a national lockdown and “letting the virus rip”.

But Sir Keir Starmer, leader of the Labour Party, warned the government is “several steps behind the curve and running to catch up with the virus”.

Despite rising cases in Reading, which is above 50 cases per 100,000 people in the week up to October 6, the town will be at the lowest level of restrictions at tier one.

Reading is below the average of 79 cases per 100,000 across England, according to the BBC.

This means national measures apply, including:

  • 10pm curfew for pubs, bars and restaurants
  • Rule of Six – gatherings of more than six banned except for under certain circumstances such as weddings and funerals
  • Wearing face masks on public transport, in shops and when not seated in pubs and restaurants.

Restrictions will be kept under review.

What would it mean if Reading moved up a level? 

Tier two or ‘high alert’ means:

  • Household mixing is banned indoors, although support bubbles will still be permitted
  • Rule of six continues to apply outdoors.

Most areas which are already subject to local restrictions have been moved to this level.

READ MORE: Reading’s Covid cases jump by more than 20 in last 24 hours

The areas in this level are:


– Cheshire West and Chester

– Cheshire East

Greater Manchester

– Manchester

– Bolton

– Bury

– Stockport

– Tameside

– Trafford

– Wigan

– Salford

– Rochdale

– Oldham


– Warrington


– High Peak – the wards of: Tintwistle, Padfield, Dinting, St John’s, Old Glossop, Whitfield, Simmondley, Gamesley, Howard Town, Hadfield South and Hadfield North


– Lancashire

– Blackpool

– Preston

– Blackburn with Darwen

– Burnley

West Yorkshire

– Leeds

– Bradford

– Kirklees

– Calderdale

– Wakefield

South Yorkshire

– Barnsley

– Rotherham

– Doncaster

– Sheffield

North East

– Newcastle

– South Tyneside

– North Tyneside

– Gateshead

– Sunderland

– Durham

– Northumberland

Tees Valley

– Middlesbrough

– Redcar and Cleveland

– Stockton-on-Tees

– Darlington

– Hartlepool

West Midlands

– Birmingham

– Sandwell

– Solihull

– Wolverhampton

– Walsall


– Leicester

– Oadby and Wigston


– Nottinghamshire

– Nottingham City

What if Reading reached tier three – the ‘very high alert’ level?

The restrictions at this level are:

  • No households mixing indoors and outdoors, including in private gardens
  • Pubs and bars must close unless they serve ‘substantive’ meal
  • Local politicians will decide if gyms, betting shops, casinos, hairdressers and beauty salons should close
  • Travel outside the area advised against

Areas in Tier 3:

Currently just the Liverpool City Region, where local leaders have decided gyms, leisure centres, betting shops, casinos and adult gaming centres must close.

This area includes:




St Helens



Reading Chronicle